My Account Navigation


Isola String Quartet

Isola String Quartet

Quartet - String Quartet


  • Kana Kawashima - Violin
  • Rachel Spencer - Violin
  • Katrina Lee - Viola
  • Alice Allen - Cello


Fanny Mendelssohn - Quartet in Eb Major

Rebecca Clarke - Two Movements for String Quartet

Jessie Montgomery - Strum


The Isola Quartet is a fresh and exciting new collaboration between four of Scotland’s most sought-after musicians - Kana Kawashima, Rachel Spencer, Katrina Lee, and Alice Allen. Named after the pivotal work, “Isola the Disinherited”, by Scottish writer and feminist Lady Florence Dixie, the Isola Quartet has a vision of greater equality in classical music programming. It aims to actively challenge the privilege underpinning the musical canon and add more voices of minority ethnic, (or rather, “global majority”) composers, as well as female composers. By showcasing the music of living composers from underrepresented backgrounds alongside previously undiscovered historical works, the Isola Quartet seeks to enrich the string quartet repertoire and enthuse, challenge and inspire audiences.